Buhari Charges Newly Appointed Ambassadors To Protect Nigerians Abroad


Nigeria’s President Muhammadu Buhari on Tuesday inducted the newly appointed ambassadors, charges them to fight hard, and protect Nigerians living abroad.

The President who joined the event virtually urged the appointees to go out and represent the nation with utmost dedication and pride.

He  identified nine priority areas to guide its foreign policy- cutting across health, corruption, transportation, security, education among others, urging the ambassadors to be guided also by these.

“Nigeria is on good terms with every country in the world, with no exception.

“President Buhari has leveraged on the goodwill of his foreign policy to secure the re-election of Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala among other Nigerians holding key positions in international organisations.

The newly appointed ambassadors are 94, eight Consul Generals, and five Charge D’ Affairs.

43 of them are career ambassadors while 53 others are political ambassadors.

The appointment comes about nine months after President Buhari nominated 42 career ambassadors-designate to the Senate for confirmation.

In a letter dated May 6, 2020, the President informed the lawmakers that his request was in accordance with section 171 (1),(2)(c), and subsection (4) of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, as amended.

“I have the honour to forward for confirmation by the Senate, the under-listed forty-two (42) names of nominees as Career Ambassadors-Designate,” he had said in the letter.

The ambassadors-designate who were nominated included C.O Nwachukwu; A. Kafas, R. U. Brown, G. A. Odudigbo, O. C. Onowu, Y. S. Suleiman, E. S. Agbana, B. B. M. Okoyen, G. M. Okoko, A. M. Garba, M. l. Bashir, M. O. Abam, A. E. Allotey, G. E. Edokpa, and A. N. Madubuike.

Others are Adamu Lamuwa, Innocent lwejuo, M. S. Abubakar, Y. A. Ahmed, S. D. Umar, A. Sule, G. Y. Hamza, N. Rimi, L S. Ahmed-Remawa, M. Manu, l. R. Ocheni, l. A. Yusuf, M. Abdulraheem, W. A. Adedeji, and A. U. Ogah.

Also among the ambassadors-designate are A. A. Musa, N. A. Kolo, S. O. Olaniyan, A. R. Adejola, E. Awe, O. Aluko, I. A. Alatishe, V. A. Adeleke, M. S. Adamu, l. N. Charles, Z M. lfu, and B. B. Hamman.

In another letter dated July 1, 2020, the President asked the Senate to confirm one career ambassador-designate and 39 non-career ambassadors-designate.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply